Skip to content ↓
Learn Academies Trust

Learn Academies Trust

Church of England NPQs

Applications for the next Cohort now open!


The Church of England (in partnership with the Catholic Education Service) will offer the full suite of NPQs to teachers and school leaders nationwide, and we are thrilled to be working collaboratively as a delivery partner as The Leicester Diocesan Trusts Collective.

Why take an NPQ?

National Professional Qualifications (NPQs) are a nationally recognised suite of qualifications for teachers and school leaders at all levels; from those who want to develop expertise in high quality teaching practice, to those leading multiple schools across a trust or other group of schools.
NPQ courses are designed to help you hone and expand the abilities you already have, helping you become a more effective leader inside and outside the classroom. Completing an NPQ will support you on the next step in your career by offering practical support and guidance, and the core knowledge you need to help your school improve further. Wherever your teaching career takes you, having an NPQ can help you demonstrate your continued commitment to and expertise in school leadership and specialist areas of teaching practice.

The updated suite of NPQs launched in November 2021. The courses have been revised to reduce the workload burden on teachers, while still providing the opportunity to develop and apply their learning. 

The three existing NPQs in Senior Leadership, Headship and Executive Leadership have been refreshed, ensuring that they are underpinned by the latest evidence of what makes effective teaching. 

To ensure NPQs continue to offer the best possible support to teachers and leaders wanting to expand their knowledge and skills, we are introducing 2 additional NPQs which are now available.

The NPQ offer now comprises the:

  • NPQ for Leading Literacy – for teachers who have, or are aspiring to have, responsibilities for leading literacy across a school, year group, key stage or phase
  • NPQ for Early Years Leadership – for leaders qualified to at least level 3 with a full and relevant qualification who are, or are aspiring to be:
    • managers of private, voluntary and independent nurseries
    • headteachers of school-based or maintained nurseries
    • childminders with leadership responsibilities

Find out more about each course at the Church of England 'Find Out More Webinars' - click here for more details.




The Church of England Mission

Their mission is to develop school leaders to be CALLED to a lifegiving vocation, CONNECTED to a thriving learning community, and COMMITTED to  evidence-informed excellence in education. 


The Leicester Diocesan Trusts Collective

The Leicester Diocesan Trusts Collective is made up of Learn Academies Trust, Embrace Academies Trust, Inspiring Primaries Academy Trust, Oval Learning Trust, Rise Academy Trust, The Vines Academy Trust and Discovery. In association with Our Lady Immaculate Catholic Academies Trust and Peterborough Diocese Education Trust we are delighted to be delivering the NPQ training programme on behalf of the Church of England. Click on the links below to find out more.